All-Time Jewish Women’s NCAA Team

Last week we tackled the Jewish Men’s All-Time NCAA team and today we look at the women’s team. Not that both Sue Bird and Nancy Lieberman are on the all-time team and Bird would be the starting point guard (over Sheffer). Let the debate begin!

Alysha Clark with The Great Rabbino

Starting Lineup

Sue Bird (UConn)** – PG

Bird finished her career with 1,378 points, 585 assists, and 243 steals. She is #1 in 3-point field goal percentage (45.9) and free throw percentage (89.2).  She won 2 National Championships, 3 Big East Championships and Big East regular season titles. Bird was the inaugural winner of the Nancy Lieberman Award in 2000 and then won again in 2001 and 2002. 

Nancy Lieberman (Old Dominion)* – G

Lieberman won two consecutive AIAW National Championships (1979, 1980) and one WNIT (Women’s National Invitation Tournament) Championship in 1978. She was the first two-time winner of the prestigious Wade Trophy and the Broderick Award winner. Lieberman scored 2,430 points, 1,167 rebounds, 961 assists, and 562 steals in her collegiate career. 

Jamlia Wideman (Stanford) – G

3rd overall pick in 1st WNBA Draft (unable to find her stats online)

Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee) – SF

Clark averaged a national best and school-record 27.5 points per game in 2008-09. She again lead the nation in 2009 with 28.3 ppg and was named Sun Belt Player of the Year in 2009 and 2010.

Dannielle Diamant (Northwestern) – PF

In 2013 Diamant was named honorable mention All-Big Ten and an Academic All-Big Ten. She started all 29 games played averaging 30.7 mpg and 11.5 ppg, 7.8 rpg, and shot 40.4 percent from the field. She also finished 5th in NU history for blocks.

Bench Players

Shay Doron (Maryland) – G

Doron ranks in University of Maryland’s top 10 in field goal attempts, assists, steals, three-pointers, and three-point attempts. She also started and played in more games than any other player in school history. Doron was named to the All-ACC third team in 2004, All-ACC first team in 2005, and All-ACC second team and ACC All-Academic team in 2006

Naama Shafir (Toledo) – G

Shafir was named 4-time All-MAC Team (1st team in 2010-11 and 2012-13, 2nd team in 2009-10 and honorable mention in 2008-09). 

Jacqui Kalin (Northern Iowa) – G

2x Stiles Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year – Scored 2,081 career points 

Alyssa Baron (Penn) – G

2013-14 Ivy League Player of the Year – Two-time Ivy League scoring champion – 2013-14 Ivy League champion

Lexie Gerson (Virginia) – G

2x ACC All Defensive Team – Led ACC in steals in 2012-2013 and 2013-2014

Drew Edelman (USC/UCSB) – F

2nd Team All-Big West – Averaged 11.7 ppg  and 7.7 rpg

Camille Mahlnecht (Cal State Northridge) – C

2013-14 Big West Defensive Player of the Year – CSUN All-Time Blocks Leader –  7.3 ppg, 6.9 rpg and 1.7 bpg


Lindsay Gottlieb (California / Head Coach) — Lauren Battista (Princeton / Assistant Coach) — Jennifer Cosgrove (Fordham / Assistant Coach)

Honorable Mentions

Jamie Kaplan (Tulane) – Arron Zimmerman (American) – Alex Cohen (Northwestern) – Brasheedah Elohim (Fayetteville State University ) – Donna Orender (Queens College) – Leah Purvis (Miami) – Shir Levy (Washington) – Leslie Carlson-Schlachter (George Washington)




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s