All-Time Jewish Men’s NCAA Team

We dug through the archives, read the stats and assembled the All-Time greatest Jewish NCAA College basketball teams (men and women). Let the debate begin! 

* = All-Time Team Men & Women / **= Starter All-Time Team Men & Women

Tal Brody with The Great Rabbino

Starting Lineup

Doron Sheffer (UConn)* – PG

Sheffer was the 1994 Big East Conference Rookie of the Year and named to UConn’s All 20th Century Team. He led the Huskies to 3 straight Big East titles but is best known as Ray Allen’s point guard. 

Ernie Grunfeld (Tennessee)** – SG

The 1977 SEC Player of the Year has his jersey retired by the Volunteers. He also set the school scoring record with 2,249 points.

Lennie Rosenbluth (North Carolina)** – SF

1957 1st Team All-American had his number retired by the Tar Heels.  3x 1st Team All  ACC and helped the Tar Heels to the 1957 National Championship.

Art Heyman (Duke)** – SF

The 1963 1st overall pick had great success at Duke. Duke retired the 1963 ACC Player of the Year and consensus All-American. He was 2nd-Team All American in 1962. Heyman average 25.1 points per game and scoring 1,984 points throughout his college career.

Neal Walk (Florida)** – C

Walk led the country in rebounding in 1968 while averaging 25ppg. The Gators have retired his number. He was a 1969 3rd Team and 1968 2nd Team All-American.


Jon Scheyer (Duke)* – SG

NCAA Champion (2010) – ACC Tournament MVP (2009) – 2nd Team All-American (2010)

Jake Cohen (Davidson)* – C

2× SoCon Player of the Year (2012, 2013) –  SoCon Freshman of the Year (2010) – Davidson’s All-time leader in blocks and starts

Barry Kramer (New York University)* – SF

1st Team All-American (1963) – 2nd Leading Scorer (1963) 

Tal Brody (Illinois)* – G

All-American (1965) – All-Big Ten (1965) – Retired Jersey

Alex Tyus (Florida)* – PF

1,333 career points

Jordan Farmar (UCLA) – PG

Pac-10 Freshman of the Year (2005) – First-team All-Pac-10 (2006) – AP Honorable mention All-American (2006)

Sylven Landesberg (Virginia) – SG/SF

ACC Rookie of the Year (2009) – ACC All-Freshman team (2009) – 17.3 ppg (2010)

image1 (1)

Coaching Staff

Larry Brown (Kansas / Head Coach) — Bruce Pearl (Auburn / Assistant Coach) — Seth Greenberg (Virginia Tech / Assistant Coach) — Larry Shyatt (Wyoming / Assistant Coach)

Honorable Mentions

David Blu (USC) PF —  Dolph Schayes (NYU) PG — Rudy LaRusso (Dartmouth) PF/C — Spencer Weiscz (Princeton) SF — Doug Gottlieb (Oklahoma State) PG


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s